Trollbloods: The rebirth

The first time I painted Trollbloods, I had the bright idea they should be neon pink. They were going to be drunken frat boys who ate a lot of shrimp and flamingos and that was the backstory to their brightly colored skin.

When it actually came to painting them, it was a royal pain in the ass. Florescent pink doesn’t cover well over black primer and I hate using white primer. I lost interest in painting the army and playing it.

In the interest of full disclosure, here they are. I'm sorry.

Fast-forward to life at The Mothership, where I’ve successfully completely two 100-point painting challenges and learned a thing or two about painting quick and not-so-dirty. The 100 points of Cygnar that I painted in 2010 damn near destroyed my will to live, but it reinforced the importance of inks and washes and painting cleanly and quickly. The 100-points of Circle from earlier this year was an exercise in subdued colors with a brighter accent.

But why Trolls, and why now?

Retribution has become my primary Warmachine faction. I love me some Angry Elves and that’s not going to change anytime soon. I love me some Thyra, Flame of Sorrow, and her horde of angry widows that scamper across the board, especially as a tier 4 theme force. There’s also Constance Blaize, who has roped me in for another tier 4 theme force and has me excited about Sword Knights again. So with three Warmachine factions competing for my attention, what could Hordes possibly have to catch my eye?

Jarl Skuld, Devil of the Thornwood.

Jarl, you rogue you. With your two pistols and one eye...

I can’t say much about Jarl, other than I think he’s awesome and I really dig the sculpt. I happen to like his rules and he’s the one model that’s got me excited to take the up the cause of the kriels yet again. And did I mention how much fun these guys are to paint now that I don’t have to worry about retina-searing pink? And they paint up fast.

I didn’t give up on pink entirely; it’s still very much a part of this army and it’s important to me that it remains so. I chose a non-studio paint scheme yet again in order to make sure the pink was a good fit and I’m happy with how these models have turned out. They’re table-top quality, which is good enough for me. I want them done so I can play with them. (I have a thing about fielding painted models now.)

But enough blathering. I spent the better part of the evening trying to get these pics to work, and I’ll be damned if you’re not going to see them. :P We’ll start of with something that resembles a step-by-step.

Primer

Metals — I still do these first. Painted on instead of drybrushed. Better results.

Skin tone. Vallejo French Mirage Blue.

Leathers — Bloostone for the big stuff, Boot Strap for the smaller bits.

Metal accents — Brazen Brass

Black wash over the skin.

Washes over the metal bits and leathers.

Highlights on the skin. I'm lazy. That's all that really gets a highlight with these guys.

Details: Quills, bumps, faces, eyes and a splash of pink.

Battle box with Madrak resculpt.

If not for becoming enthralled with Capt. Jack Harkness and Torchwood, I could’ve had the light beasts done in about a day. There was also Independence Day and quality time with Awesome Dude, so I’m not really sweating the fact they didn’t get finished with Dicewraith-like speed. They were very fast for me and they’re done, which is the important thing.

More full disclosure: I painted up the Madrak resculpt a week or two ago as my primary test model. You might have seen him before, but this is his debut on my blog. :P

"It's the end of the world as we—" whoops, wrong Madrak.

Madrak: Angry from every angle.

I did manage to get a model done in one sitting, and I’m pretty happy I didn’t paint him up sooner. I don’t think I would have liked him in pink.

Gunnbjorn says you better recognize.

"That's right. Real Trollbloods wear pink. Suckas."

Yep. That's the angle I'll see most often...

I’ve had the Fennblade UA since it came out forever ago. Some how, those models wandered onto the painting table last week too.

Born on the 4th of July: The drummer made me think of the Revolutionary War. Also: Angry Troll nipple.

Yeah, I need to do the bases...

"They'll never take... our FREEEEEEEDOMMMMMM!!!"

"I don't wanna work, I just wan—" Yeah yeah, we get it. Should get that eye checked out...

Impalers at the ready.

Time to go? Already?

"Say good night, bag whelp."

So there you have it. A photo dump and a quasi step-by-step. I’ve got some big things planned for Jarl and his merry band, but that’s not something I can inflict upon the masses for a few months. The best news about the new color scheme is that I thought I’d have to strip models to get the gray to work, but it turns out it covers the pink pretty well, which means I can get this army turned around pretty fast. If only I could feel as inspired about some of these other projects I’ve got going on.

Gun Bunnies and War Rabbits? Yeah. Those guys.

Le sigh…

Leave a Reply

